Find more information about how AOTrauma is organized and governed today.

History of AOTrauma

The AO (Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Osteosynthesefragen) was founded in 1958 by a group of four Swiss surgeons: Maurice E. Müller, Robert Schneider, Hans Willenegger, and Martin Allgöwer. Read the detailed history of the AO Foundation.

In 2008, the Board of Directors of the AO Foundation created AOTrauma. They recognized the need for the clinical divisions to have their own identity, and the unique market dynamics of trauma.  In many ways AOTrauma has always been the main pillar of the AO Foundation and vice versa. It is difficult to separate one from the other.

AOTrauma has grown into a global community of best-in-class trauma and orthopedic surgeons, researchers and operating room personnel since its creation as its own clinical division. It continues to focus on its strengths: education, research and community building.

AOTrauma has kept the heritage and the history and gone on to establish its own identity within the AO Foundation. The organization has matured through structural changes to better meet emerging challenges of trauma and orthopedic surgeons around the globe.

The AOTrauma International Board provides strategic planning and support to the affiliated AOTrauma regions. Each AOTrauma region has its own budget, authority, and the responsibility to drive local activities within the AOTrauma International framework.