Virtual reality simulator wins first AO Trauma Innovation in Education award

The award will be bestowed for the first time at the Davos Courses in December 2018

01 November 2018

A five-person project team from Germany will be awarded AO Trauma’s first-ever Innovation in Education award at the Davos Courses 2018 in Davos, Switzerland. The team’s innovative “Virtual-reality-simulator for teaching radiation hazards prevention” was praised by the jury as an highly innovative and effective tool.

Enhancing the AO Trauma Education Experience

In a call earlier this summer, AO Trauma brought the idea of fostering innovation in education to life and announced the first call for applications for the new AO Trauma award for Innovation in Education. 

Seeking innovative approaches to educational content, education delivery and curriculum design, AO Trauma sought nominees advancing one of the following aspirations: 

  • Teaching effectiveness
  • Educational impact
  • Stimulate learners’ motivation
  • Engage learners in the learning process
  • Interaction

AO Trauma received twelve well-qualified and eligible nominees out of 19 submissions from eight countries in total. 

The jury made its decision in September. Jury members were:

  • Wa’el Taha, chairperson AO Trauma Education Commission (AOTEC)
  • Vajara Phiphobmongkol, member AOTEC 
  • Mike Sirkin, member AOTEC 
  • Michael Baumgaertner, member of AO Education Institute (AOEI) Advisory Board
  • Samir Mehta, chairperson AO Trauma Community Development Commission (AOTCDC)

The winner

With its "Virtual-reality-simulator for teaching radiation hazards prevention" project, a team composed of Klaus Dresing, Michael Teistler, Matthias Suencksen, Markus Wagner, and Oliver Bott (DE) persuaded the jury. 

The team’s novel simulation-based application, combining gamification and virtual reality technology, provides a user-friendly, enjoyable and motivating training tool with a high educational value for intraoperative C-arm imaging. It helps to operate C-arms adequately and hence to avoid unnecessary radiation exposure and intraoperative delays. 

The jury recognized the contribution of this highly innovative and effective training tool to the field of computer-based healthcare professional training. 

Dresing will be invited as faculty to the Davos Courses 2018 and will receive the award certificate during a ceremony. The simulator will be integrated into the AO Trauma Course— Basic Principles of Fracture Management in Davos.

The runner-up

Tim Coughlin (GB), with his "Online course for undergraduates" was runner-up for the award.

Honorable mentions

Honorable mentions were awarded to Ingmar Buffo (MX) for his efforts to make Basic Principles courses in Mexico more affordable, as well as the Intraoperative Imaging Working Group with Jochen Franke, Stephan Grechenig, Paul Grützner, Michael Kraus and Sven Vetter (DE) for their development of an Intraoperative Imaging Curriculum. 

While neither the runner-up nor the honorable mentions will receive a prize, their projects are great achievements, and both the jury and the AO Trauma International Board were very impressed by these ambitious projects. 

Learn more

AO Trauma will feature the winner, runner-up and honorable mention projects more detailed in separate stories on the AO Trauma Website. Stay tuned.

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.